Stylistic Sexism

Posted: September 3, 2014 in Feminism
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I had just dropped off my lover for a train ride and was driving back when a certain sign in a hair-cutter’s caught my eye: “Men & Kids $10“.
This caused me to pause last time I saw the sign a few months back, but this time I pulled right over and swaggered my dashing ass inside.
Allow me to paint you a picture:
I was wearing my training gear, which is comprised of ACU (army combat uniform) pants, desert boots, and a black instructor’s t-shirt. I have short hair and a neatly trimmed goatee.

Artist’s rendition:
nmmr536737                               They say you are what you eat, but I don’t remember eating a fucking legend!

The two women inside quickly whispered to each other (presumably regarding who will claim the client) and then the taller one with long, curly, black hair walked over — all smiles.

“I have a question about the sign outside,” I cheerfully begin.
She nodded excitedly and told me that all men’s haircuts are $10.
“So what if a man has long, flowing, beautiful hair?” I ask, politely.
Still excitedly, she firmly states, “Doesn’t matter!” an expression of overt pride on her face.
“I see,” says I, “Is that not extremely sexist? You know, against women?”

Her eyes widen in surprise and her mouth opens and closes twice before she responds that women tend to have ‘longer hair’.
“I know,” I cut in, “but you just stated that a man’s style does not matter, no matter how long the hair, and I am not talking about getting a perm.”

funny-celebrity-pictures-javier-bardem-hair-stylist-i-am-disappoint                                                     I find your lack of sisterhood disturbing.

Her eyes dart from side to side and her compatriot sweeping the floor had stopped to stare at us in awkward silence.
“Well, we are all girls here,” she manages.
“Indeed,” I agree, “Is that not almost MORE perverse, ‘Uncle Tom’ style?”

As she continued to mutter and stutter incoherently in complete shock, I realize there will be no more justifications forthcoming, so I bid her good-day and take my leave.
“Come again!” she manages.
“Not likely,” I call back before the door swings shut behind me.

IMG_20140902_165416Visit “Short Kuts” at 3225 I-70 Business Loop in Clifton Colorado. Or better yet…DON’T.

Comments
  1. dopechic says:

    lol! so messed up! wouldnt fly in sweden..

  2. likamarie says:

    lol. Tres Droll. Love the way you handled that. The fact that women are willing to pay more, too, I think is pretty ridiculous.

    I could go on about pay scales of what women earn vs. men, and how it is or isn’t affordable depending on which gender, etc…. but, you already know what I’m talking about, so, I won’t bore your readers with this rant.

Leave a Reply

